Quick & Easy Hairdo

We all have bad hair days, or days where we just don’t have time. The messy bun is very popular, but let’s admit it- it’s an art. Today I’ll share with you a variation of the messy bun that’s quick, moldable and keeps those luscious locks out of your face.

As a teen, I did my hair like this all the time and I’m sure you have, too. It’s essentially  a pony tail that you don’t pull all the way through. Here’s how I’ve modified this classic style- bobby pins! Ah, those tiny little tools that are so easy to use and lose.

Step 1

If your hair is anything like mine: rebellious without loads of hairspray, a headband is great for this look. I add one bobby pin on either side of the headband, near my ears, to hold it in place.

_MG_1861

Step 2 

Begin putting hair in pony tail, but don’t pull it all the way through on the second (or third) loop.

_MG_1864

_MG_1862If you have long hair, you may need to gather the loose ends into your pony tail when pulling hair halfway through. This will ensure all of your hair is up and add volume.

_MG_1865

_MG_1868

Step 3

Fasten the bun down with bobby pins on either side (or wherever you see fit). Adding the pins holds the bun in place and allows for added volume.

_MG_1869

I like to pin the back of my bun in place, also. I tuck the ends of my hair into the bun and pin them. _MG_1870

And, voila! You’ve got yourself a messy bun. Believe it or not, this bun isn’t as large as I usually like it, but you get the point. _MG_1871_MG_1867

Here’s a few of my fav. headbands, in case you’re on the hunt!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are your go-to styles when you’re in a hurry? Let me know in the comments below.

Until next week, XO- Ashley

divider-5I’m still on the hunt for new beauty, food and lifestyle blogs to follow! Please feel free to comment with your blogs and social media tags below! I’m in between a brand makeup for myself, so please follow me on my newly updated Instagram & Twitter @AshleysitaSays! My website, AshleyRuizWrites.com, is the same for now and I just put a Mani Monday up featuring a pretty, nude polish!

Leave a comment